I. THE FORMATION OF
LATIN CHARACTERS



II. ANATOMY

The Terminology of Latin Characters
︎


The Classification of Latin Typefaces
︎



III. PAIRING

East-Asian & Latin character comparison 
︎


Procedures
︎



Unity
︎





Contrast 
︎





IV.
LATIN TYPOGRAPHY & GRAPHIC DESIGN


Latin Type Merchandise & Foundries
︎
Adobe Fonts: fonts.adobe.com
Google Fonts: fonts.google.com
Dalton Maag: www.daltonmaag.com
Emigre Fonts: www.emigre.com
Linotype: www.linotype.com
Monotype: www.monotype.com
Letterform Sweden: lettersfromsweden.se
Klim Type Foundry: klim.co.nz

Sharp Type: sharptype.co

Colophon Foundry: www.colophon-foundry.org

Swiss Typeface: www.swisstypefaces.com

Production Type: www.productiontype.com

Optimo: www.optimo.ch

A2 Type: www.a2-type.co.uk

Hoefler & Co: www.typography.com

House Industries: houseind.com

205TF: www.205.tf
Milieu Grotesque: www.milieugrotesque.com
Alfa Type: www.alfatypefonts.com

The Pyte: thepytefoundry.net

Future Fonts: www.futurefonts.xyz

Blaze Type: blazetype.eu
FatType: www.fatype.com
Commercial Type: commercialtype.com
FontShop: www.fontshop.com
TypeNetwork: www.typenetwork.com
Village: vllg.com

Copper and Brasses: coppersandbrasses.com
Velve Tyne: velvetyne.fr
ARS Type: arstype.angusrshamal.com
Margot Leveque: www.margotleveque.com

Wise Type: wisetype.nl

Bretagne Type Foundry: www.bretagnebretagne.fr
Photo Lettering: www.photolettering.com
Pampa Type: pampatype.com
LatinoType: latinotype.com

General Type Studio www.generaltypestudio.com

Frere Jones: frerejones.com

Dinamo: www.abcdinamo.com


UK+European Design Studios
︎

UK-based

Made-Thought www.madethought.com
North Design www.northdesign.co.uk
Koto: koto.studio
dn&co: dnco.com
OK-RM: www.ok-rm.co.uk
Warrior Studio: warriorsstudio.com
Zak Group: www.zakgroup.co.uk
Magpie: magpie-studio.com
Sawdust: www.madebysawdust.co.uk

Commission: commission.studio

Bond: bond-agency.com

The Mill: www.themill.com

Socio Design: sociodesign.co.uk

Factory Fifteen: www.factoryfifteen.com

Here Design: www.heredesign.co.uk

A Practice for Everyday Life: apracticeforeverydaylife.com

Spin Studio: spin.co.uk
Catalogue: www.thisiscatalogue.co.uk

Stink: www.stinkstudios.com

Mucho: www.wearemucho.com

SuperUnion: www.superunion.com


Europe-based

Studio Dumbar: studiodumbar.com

DEUTSCHE & JAPANER: deutscheundjapaner.com

Olssøn Barbieri: olssonbarbieri.com

Reynolds & Reyner: reynoldsandreyner.com

Mouse Graphics: www.mousegraphics.eu

Les Graphiquants: les-graphiquants.fr

IDna Group: idnagroup.com

Bureau Borsche: bureauborsche.com

Stockholm Design Lab: www.stockholmdesignlab.se

Mount Agency: www.mount.agency

Tres Tipos Gráficos: trestiposgraficos.com

Futur Neue: www.futurneue.cc

Querida: www.querida.si

Stink: www.stinkstudios.com

ACNE: www.acne.se

Mucho: www.wearemucho.com

Studio Feixen: www.studiofeixen.ch

Homework: www.homework.dk


North American Design Studios

︎

Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv: www.cghnyc.com
IDEO: www.ideo.com
Frog: www.frogdesign.com
FuseProject: fuseproject.com
COLLINS: www.wearecollins.com
Lippincott: lippincott.com
Landor: landor.com
ManvsMachine: mvsm.com
R/GA: www.rga.com
Saatchi & Saatchi: saatchi.com/en-us
AKQA: www.akqa.com
TBWA/Chiat Day: www.tbwachiatday.com
TBWA Media Arts Lab: www.mediaartslab.com
FutureBrand: www.futurebrand.com/us
Pentagram: (you may already have the link)
Base Design: www.basedesign.com
Mother Design: www.motherdesign.com
Hugo & Marie: /www.hugoandmarie.com
Center Design: hello.center.design
2x4: 2x4.org
Concrete: www.concrete.ca
DesignStudio: design.studio
Blok Design: blokdesign.com
ManualSF: manualcreative.com
Moving Brands: www.movingbrands.com
Gretel: gretelny.com
Stink: www.stinkstudios.com
Weiden Kennedy: www.wk.com
72andSunny: www.72andsunny.com
Trollbäck+Company: trollback.com
Instrument: www.instrument.com
Hype Type: hypetypestudio.com
Turner Duckworth: www.turnerduckworth.com
Jones Knowles Ritch: www.jkrglobal.com
Elephant: elephant.is
Mucho: www.wearemucho.com
Ueno: ueno.co
SuperUnion: www.superunion.com
Morcos Key: morcoskey.com
Public-Library: public-library.org

North American Independent Studios
︎
Folder Studio: folder.studio
Inventory Press: www.inventorypress.com
Actual Source: actualsource.org
Fisk Projects: www.fiskprojects.com/studio
PlayLab: www.playlab.org
...





IV. BOOKS&ARTICLES


Books

︎



I. THE FORMATION OF
EAST-ASIAN CHARACTERS




II. ANATOMY


The Terminology of East-Asian Characters
︎










The Classification
of East-Asian Typefaces

︎



***Part of the contents above are from a series valuable typographical resources. They include Chinese Type Archive, Types of Type, and Idea Document 1 book.



III. PAIRING


East-Asian & Latin character comparison 
︎


Procedures
︎



Unity
︎




Contrast
︎




IV. EAST-ASIAN TYPOGRAPHY & GRAPHIC DESIGN


Chinese Type Foundries, Independent Studios,
& Independent Designers

︎
FounderType: www.foundertype.com
JustFont: justfont.com
Chinese Type Archive: chinesetypearchive.com
Hanyi Fonts: hanyi.com.cn
Synoptic Office: www.synopticoffice.com
TienMin Liao: typeji.com
Dyna Font: www.dynacw.com/en
3type: 3type.cn
Arphic: www.arphic.com.tw
Oval-Graphic: oval-graphic.com
Zhi-Hong Wang: wangzhihong.com
Kai-Hang Mak: makkaihang.com
Dadoda: dadoda.cn
Reflex Design: reflexdesign.cn
2Tigers Design: 2tigersdesign.cargo.site
O.OO: odotoo.com
Retro Jam: www.retrojamtaiwan.com
Type Is Beautiful: thetype.com/zh-hant
MakeFont: www.makefont.com
WType: wytype.com

Korean Type Foundries, Independent Studios,
& Independent Designers

︎
AG Typography Institute: agfont.com
Sandoll: sandoll.co.kr
Fontrix: www.fontrix.co.kr/Default.aspx
Goodfont: www.goodfont.co.kr
Yoo Min Goo: yoonmingoo.net
Yang Jang: yang-jang.com
Na Kim: ynkim.com
Jikji Soft: jikjisoft.com
Hangul Typography School: typoschool.com
Paju Typography Institute: www.pati.kr
Korean Society of Typography: koreantypography.org
Corner Studio: corners.kr/studio + Corner Printing: www.corners.kr/printing
TypoJanchi International Typography Biennale: www.typojanchi.org/2019
Ha Hyeongwon: hyngwn.com
Hezin O: ohezin.kr
FNT: studiofnt.com
Sunny Studio: www.sunnystudio.kr
Ordinary People: ordinarypeople.kr
Everyday Practice: everyday-practice.com
Content Form Context: www.contentformcontext.com
Sulki And Min: www.sulki-min.com/wp/
Saworl: saworl.com/new
Sulki And Min: www.sulki-min.com/wp/
Design Momentum: designmomentum.org/index.html
Kim Garden: kimgarden.kr
Triangle Studio: www.triangle-studio.co.kr
Chui Graf: chuigraf.kr
Google Fonts’ Korean Collection: googlefonts.github.io/korean
Types of Type: typesoftype.com

Japanese Type Foundries, Independent Studios,
& Independent Designers

︎

Tokyo TDC: tokyotypedirectorsclub.org
TypeSquare: typesquare.com
Morisawa: en.morisawa.co.jp
FontWorks: fontworks.co.jp
Iwata: www.iwatafont.com
Motawa Font: www.motoyafont.jp
Axis Font: www.axisfont.com
Yukihiro Nakamura: www.n-font.com
Werk Graphics: werkgraphic.com/Works

Jiyu Kobo: www.jiyu-kobo.co.jp

Kazui Press: kazuipress.com

Dharma Type: dharmatype.com




IV. BOOKS & ARTICLES


Books
︎


Essays
︎

“Kanji Graphy: Visual translation between Latin letters and Japanese characters” by Mariko Takagi: www.academia.edu/14997299/Kanji_Graphy_Visual_translation_between_Latin_letters_and_Japanese_characters

“Beyond the Pictorial: Exploring the semiotic layer of typography in Hanzi / Kanji character” by Mariko Takagi: www.academia.edu/23014651/Beyond_the_Pictorial_Exploring_the_semiotic_layer_of_typography_in_Hanzi_Kanji_characters

“‘Bamboo fonts’—Cultural stereotypes visualised by display fonts” by Mariko Takagi: www.academia.edu/12422507/_Bamboo_fonts_Cultural_stereotypes_visualised_by_display_fonts 

“Typography between Chinese complex characters and Latin Letters”: www.academia.edu/12160847/Typography_between_Chinese_complex_characters_and_Latin_Letters







© 2020 Yi Mao All Rights Reserved.
Mark