I. THE FORMATION OF
LATIN CHARACTERS



II. ANATOMY

The Terminology of Latin Characters
︎


The Classification of Latin Typefaces
︎



III. PAIRING

East-Asian & Latin character comparison 
︎


Procedures
︎



Unity
︎





Contrast 
︎





IV.
LATIN TYPOGRAPHY & GRAPHIC DESIGN


Latin Type Merchandise & Foundries
︎
Adobe Fonts: fonts.adobe.com
Google Fonts: fonts.google.com
Dalton Maag: www.daltonmaag.com
Emigre Fonts: www.emigre.com
Linotype: www.linotype.com
Monotype: www.monotype.com
Letterform Sweden: lettersfromsweden.se
Klim Type Foundry: klim.co.nz

Sharp Type: sharptype.co

Colophon Foundry: www.colophon-foundry.org

Swiss Typeface: www.swisstypefaces.com

Production Type: www.productiontype.com

Optimo: www.optimo.ch

A2 Type: www.a2-type.co.uk

Hoefler & Co: www.typography.com

House Industries: houseind.com

205TF: www.205.tf
Milieu Grotesque: www.milieugrotesque.com
Alfa Type: www.alfatypefonts.com

The Pyte: thepytefoundry.net

Future Fonts: www.futurefonts.xyz

Blaze Type: blazetype.eu
FatType: www.fatype.com
Commercial Type: commercialtype.com
FontShop: www.fontshop.com
TypeNetwork: www.typenetwork.com
Village: vllg.com

Copper and Brasses: coppersandbrasses.com
Velve Tyne: velvetyne.fr
ARS Type: arstype.angusrshamal.com
Margot Leveque: www.margotleveque.com

Wise Type: wisetype.nl

Bretagne Type Foundry: www.bretagnebretagne.fr
Photo Lettering: www.photolettering.com
Pampa Type: pampatype.com
LatinoType: latinotype.com

General Type Studio www.generaltypestudio.com

Frere Jones: frerejones.com

Dinamo: www.abcdinamo.com


UK+European Design Studios
︎

UK-based

Made-Thought www.madethought.com
North Design www.northdesign.co.uk
Koto: koto.studio
dn&co: dnco.com
OK-RM: www.ok-rm.co.uk
Warrior Studio: warriorsstudio.com
Zak Group: www.zakgroup.co.uk
Magpie: magpie-studio.com
Sawdust: www.madebysawdust.co.uk

Commission: commission.studio

Bond: bond-agency.com

The Mill: www.themill.com

Socio Design: sociodesign.co.uk

Factory Fifteen: www.factoryfifteen.com

Here Design: www.heredesign.co.uk

A Practice for Everyday Life: apracticeforeverydaylife.com

Spin Studio: spin.co.uk
Catalogue: www.thisiscatalogue.co.uk

Stink: www.stinkstudios.com

Mucho: www.wearemucho.com

SuperUnion: www.superunion.com


Europe-based

Studio Dumbar: studiodumbar.com

DEUTSCHE & JAPANER: deutscheundjapaner.com

Olssøn Barbieri: olssonbarbieri.com

Reynolds & Reyner: reynoldsandreyner.com

Mouse Graphics: www.mousegraphics.eu

Les Graphiquants: les-graphiquants.fr

IDna Group: idnagroup.com

Bureau Borsche: bureauborsche.com

Stockholm Design Lab: www.stockholmdesignlab.se

Mount Agency: www.mount.agency

Tres Tipos Gráficos: trestiposgraficos.com

Futur Neue: www.futurneue.cc

Querida: www.querida.si

Stink: www.stinkstudios.com

ACNE: www.acne.se

Mucho: www.wearemucho.com

Studio Feixen: www.studiofeixen.ch

Homework: www.homework.dk


North American Design Studios

︎

Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv: www.cghnyc.com
IDEO: www.ideo.com
Frog: www.frogdesign.com
FuseProject: fuseproject.com
COLLINS: www.wearecollins.com
Lippincott: lippincott.com
Landor: landor.com
ManvsMachine: mvsm.com
R/GA: www.rga.com
Saatchi & Saatchi: saatchi.com/en-us
AKQA: www.akqa.com
TBWA/Chiat Day: www.tbwachiatday.com
TBWA Media Arts Lab: www.mediaartslab.com
FutureBrand: www.futurebrand.com/us
Pentagram: (you may already have the link)
Base Design: www.basedesign.com
Mother Design: www.motherdesign.com
Hugo & Marie: /www.hugoandmarie.com
Center Design: hello.center.design
2x4: 2x4.org
Concrete: www.concrete.ca
DesignStudio: design.studio
Blok Design: blokdesign.com
ManualSF: manualcreative.com
Moving Brands: www.movingbrands.com
Gretel: gretelny.com
Stink: www.stinkstudios.com
Weiden Kennedy: www.wk.com
72andSunny: www.72andsunny.com
Trollbäck+Company: trollback.com
Instrument: www.instrument.com
Hype Type: hypetypestudio.com
Turner Duckworth: www.turnerduckworth.com
Jones Knowles Ritch: www.jkrglobal.com
Elephant: elephant.is
Mucho: www.wearemucho.com
Ueno: ueno.co
SuperUnion: www.superunion.com
Morcos Key: morcoskey.com
Public-Library: public-library.org

North American Independent Studios
︎
Folder Studio: folder.studio
Inventory Press: www.inventorypress.com
Actual Source: actualsource.org
Fisk Projects: www.fiskprojects.com/studio
PlayLab: www.playlab.org
...





IV. BOOKS&ARTICLES


Books

︎















Information, deisgn, and wording are still updating...


Disclaimer:
“East-West/West-East” is an MFA thesis project with the goal of fundamentally discovering the commonality and unity among Chinese, Korean, and Japanese typography in order to enhance the encountering with Latin Typography specifically with English typography. Due to the variety and quantity of existing East-Asian typography realm, this thesis project is open-ended and willing to contribute to any ongoing studies, conversations, projects, and digital platforms which explores such topic.

Statement:
While in a macro level, notions of globalization and nationalism are shifting in between the two over the time. The encountering across multiple cultures in a micro level, which is in a daily life scenario, is unstoppable. Graphic design and especially typography play the critical part in order to enhance and improve this daily-basis communication. The encountering between East-Asian typography and English typography will be one of the main driven forces. In the meantime, Chinese, Japanese, and Hangul typography shall increase their own discussions on East-Asian typographical designs, aesthetic, typesetting, and mass applications with social context.

This website can be seen more than one of the deliverables from Yi Mao’s Graphic Design MFA thesis project. It is a derivate which will be on-going in his post-graduation period.

If you’re interested in seeing his other projects, please visit www.yimao.design

︎ Otherwise, return to home.









Mark